20.6 C
New York
Sunday, April 14, 2024

India set 295 for Sri Lanka

India vs Lanka

PALLEKELE: Skipper MS Dhoni’s fiery 38-ball-58 after gritty knocks from Gautam Gambhir (88) and Manoj Tiwary (65) powered India to a challenging 294/7 against Sri Lanka in the final ODI on Saturday.Electing to bat, India got off to a dismal start as they lost Ajinkya Rahane early in the sixth over. Thisara Parera gave India first blow by trapping Ajinkya Rahane, who replaced Virender Sehwag, leg before wickets.Virat Kohli and Gambhir they steadied the innings before Nuwan Pradeep struck to hurt India with his twin-blow.Pradeep got rid of Kohli (23) before getting rid of Rohit Sharma, whose poor form continued in the final game.Sharma managed to score just 4, his fifth single digit score in the tournament. The batsman was dismissed for duck on two occasions. Sharma’s dismissal had left India reeling at 87/3.However, Tiwary and Gambhir shared a solid stand for the fourth wicket, frustrating the Lankans.In the 38 th over Lasith Malinga triggered India’s collapse by dismissing Tiwary (65) and Suresh Raina in quick succession.Tiwary shared 110-run stand with Gambhir for the fourth wicket before edging a bouncer of Malinga only to be caught at the short third man in the 38th over.Before India could recover, Malinga struck again to send back Raina, leaving India at 197/5. Raina provided an easy catch to Thirimanne at the first slip.Gambhir missed his century after a gritty show. Sachithra Senanayake got Gambhir caught by Malinga to give India the biggest blow after quick wickets of Tiwary and Raina.Fast bowler Lasith Malinga grabbed three wickets and Nuwan Pradeep two for Sri Lanka in the day-night match.

Teams:India: Ajinkya Rahane, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, M S Dhoni (captain), Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Ashok DindaSri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Pradeep, Lasith Malinga.

Related Articles

Latest Articles