7.4 C
New York
Friday, April 19, 2024

Sania Mirza's 4 best wins

1. First WTA title

Glamour queen Sania Mirza is still India’s best bet in WTA circuit. Here are her four best wins…

First WTA title

In February 2005, Mirza became the first ever Indian women to win a WTA title, by winning her hometown event, the 2005 AP Tourism Hyderabad Open, defeating ninth seeded Alona Bondarenko in the final, 6–4, 5–7, 6–3.


2. Glory at Asiad

Glory at Asiad

In the 2006 Doha Asian Games, she teamed up with Leander Paes to win the mixed doubles gold defeating Akiko Morigami and Satoshi Iwabuchi of Japan 7-5, 5-7, 6-2.


3. First Grand Slam

First Grand Slam

Mirza picked up her first Grand Slam title at the 2009 Australian Open. Partnering with Mahesh Bhupathi, they beat Nathalie Dechy and Andy Ram 6–3, 6–1 in the final.


4. Stupendous show

Stupendous show

In the 2012 French Open mixed doubles she partnered Mahesh Bhupathi and won the crown by defeating Santiago Gonzalez of Mexico and Klaudia Jans-Ignacik of Poland 7-6 (7/3), 6-1 in the final.

Related Articles

Latest Articles