25.3 C
New York
Sunday, July 21, 2024

New Zealand 108/3 at lunch

New Zealand opt to bat

BANGALORE: Indian Spinner Pragyan Ojha got rid of Martin Guptill (53) after dismissing Kane Williamson to leave New Zealand three down for 108 at lunch on the first day of the second Test at the M Chinnaswamy stadium on Friday.Ross Taylor (27) and Daniel Flynn were at the crease before the end of the first session.Ojha trapped Williamson (17) leg before wickets before getting Guptill caught by Gautam Gambhir after his brilliant knock of 53.Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson steadied New Zealand with after the visitors lost Brendon McCullum early.Indian pacer Zaheer Khan struck in his first over to dismiss Brendon McCullum after New Zealand elected to bat.New Zealand lost McCullum without a score on the board.The visitors made one change to their bowling attack from the first test in Hyderabad by bringing in paceman Tim Southee for Chris Martin.Hosts India, who won in Hyderabad by an innings and 115 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the series, remained unchanged.Seeking to complete a whitewash, India would again rely on the guile and skill of their spinners against a hapless New Zealand.A 2-0 triumph would go a long way in erasing the bitter memories of previous season during which India were routed 4-0 by both England and Australia when they toured there.The Indians have bounced back in style this season by outplaying New Zealand inside four days in a lop-sided opening Test on the turning track of Hyderabad.Thoroughly outplayed in Hyderabad, the Kiwis will be hoping to find a way to counter the Indian spinners in the match which was expected to be affected by the inclement weather prevailing here for the past few days.New Zealand – Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor (captain), Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Kruger van Wyk, Doug Bracewell, Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.India – Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Umesh Yadav.

Related Articles

Latest Articles