24.4 C
New York
Sunday, July 21, 2024

India beat Sri Lanka by 20 runs

India defeated hosts Sri Lanka by 20 runs in the final tie of the five-match ODI series and clinched the series 4-1 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

India beat Sri Lanka by 20 runs, clinch series 4-1

Indian pacer Irfan Pathan struck again with quick wickets of Thisara Perera (18) and Jeevan Mendis (72) to hurt Sri Lankan chase in the 5th ODI.Earlier, Sri Lanka lost five wickets with just 102 runs on board, while chasing 295-run target.Zaheer Khan gave Lanka fifth blow just after they crossed 100-mark by dismissing Chamara Kapugedera.Chamara Kapugedera’ s dismissal came soon after Angelo Mathews got run out following a brilliant throw by Manoj Tiwary.Ashok Dinda trapped Dinesh Chandimal leg before wickets to give Sri Lanka third blow in the 11th over.Chandimal’s dismissal reduced Lanka to 74/3.Earlier, after removing Tillakaratne Dilshan for a duck, Irfan Pathan struck again to get rid of Upul Tharanga (31).Pathan got Dilshan caught by Zaheer Khan in the second over after India set 295-run target. In the 8th over, Pathan got rid of Tharanga.Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s late burst propelled India to a challenging 294 for seven after Gautam Gambhir and Manoj Tiwary laid the foundation with a century partnership.__PAGEBREAK__Dhoni smashed a 38-ball 58 after Gambhir (88 off 99 balls; 7×4) and Tiwary 65 off 68; 6×4) put India on course with a 110-run partnership for the fourth wicket at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.Dhoni along with Irfan Pathan (29 not out) plundered 77 runs in just 9.5 overs before falling to Lasith Malinga in the penultimate over of the innings.Dhoni, who came to the crease at the dismissal of Gambhir, was ruthless against the Lankan bowlers, hitting them all across the park, while bringing up his 50 off just 34 balls with a huge six over midwicket off Thisara Perara.With his three wickets, Malinga was the pick off the bowlers for the hosts, who had rested captain Mahela Jayawardene and Rangana Herath.Opting to bat, Indian openers in the absence of rested Virender Sehwag, started off sedately with the first boundary of the innings coming in the fourth over — Ajinkya Rahane driving Thisara Parera through the covers.Rahene’s joy was, however, shortlived as the Mumbai batsman, who was playing in his first match of the series, fell for just nine runs to an incoming delivery from Parera.Gambhir along with in-form Virat Kohli (23) combined together to add 48 runs for the second wicket before Nuwan Pradeep brought one in to the right-hander to have him trapped in front.Rohit Sharma’s misery with the bat continued as he became Pradeep’s next victim — the ball angling in and moving out after pitching to take the off stump of the Mumbaikar, who was looking to play towards the leg side.

Related Articles

Latest Articles