25.3 C
New York
Sunday, July 21, 2024

Dhoni Has Led Team India To 11 Consecutive World Cup Game Wins & That's A Record To Be Proud Of

Whenever India stepped out on the field under the leadership of MS Dhoni, there was always a sense of calm, but also surety that there was a captain who could change the game on its head with his tactical nous. 


Be it handing the last over to little-known Jogindar Sharma in 2007 T20 World Cup to promoting himself in the order during the 2011 World Cup final, Dhoni always read the situation better than anyone else. 

The former Indian captain has many records to his name, but leading India to 11 match winning run at the two World Cup editions (2011 and 2015) is something to be truly recognised. 


When India basked in glory after winning the World Cup in 2011, the side led by Dhoni only lost a solitary game to South Africa throughout the tournament. After losing to South Africa, India went on to beat West Indies, Australia in quarterfinals, Pakistan in semifinals and Sri Lanka in the all important final. 

After clinching the World Cup after 28-year wait, India had another terrific tournament in 2015, but they went down to hosts Australia in the semifinal. Not before winning seven games on the trot. 


India beat arch rivals Pakistan, followed it up with victories over South Africa, UAE, West Indies, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and Bangladesh in the quarterfinals. 

The win our Bangla Tigers marked India’s 11th successive at the World Cup – stretching from he 2011 edition. Unfortunately, a loss to Australia in the semifinals ended that run, but not before Dhoni had led the side impeccably and a run that really defines the legacy of his great leadership. 

In two consecutive World Cups, MS Dhoni led from the front and displayed astute headship. 

Related Articles

Latest Articles